What’s in a name? What’s in a set of initials?

churumuri

RAMYA KRISHNAMURTHY writes from Bangalore: I don’t know Usha K.R.. I have never met UshaK.R.. I didn’t go to St. Xavier’s college in Calcutta with Usha K.R.. I do not work at the Indian Institute of Management in Bangalore with Usha K.R.. I have not read a single book by Usha K.R..

But, by god, am I glad that A Girl and A River by Usha K.R. has won the Vodafone-Crossword Award 2007 for best book of the year in the English language fiction category!?

There are a bunch of reasons why I could be glad that the prize went to Usha K.R..

For starters, I gather it is a book about the protagonist’s search for her roots, in pre-independence times, in Karnataka. For another, she apparently weaves in Kannada words like chapdi kal and tutus of mosaranna. And many…

View original post 502 more words

Leave a Reply

